Twelve years…

Today is my twelve year anniversary in D.C.  Twelve years in one metropolitan area; never thought that would happen.

I wanted to come to D.C. though since I visited on a trip with Mountaineer Challenge Academy when I was 16.  Times have really changed since I got here as a very green, not-so-experienced 17, going on 18 year old Job Corps student.

One thing that’s changed is I’ve gone from not having any goals or direction to being goal-oriented.  I used to simply wonder around without much direction.  I had a great boss that sat me down and told me basically to get it together.  She was awesome and my life has been on an up-ward trajectory since then.

Another thing that’s changed is I found a family with Ray.  I joke about Ray being my 10 year anniversary gift to myself.  She came into my life in a time when things were in transition in a lot of places in both my personal and professional life, just when I needed her the most.

It’s not just Ray though.  It’s everyone that she’s brought into my life over the last almost two years.  She’s also made me want to do more things with my life.  I finished a book, I’m doing this blog, I’m moving past a lot of negative things…mostly because I have a family that makes me “put my money where my mouth is.”  I mean just look at my other posts.

When I did this blog in its several interpretations, there were more negative posts than positive ones.  Now, there may be a handful of negative posts scattered among the positive ones.

In twelve years, I have had a lot of changes in my life, from crappy boyfriends and roommates, to great friends and some awesome memories, to just being able to be who I am, boring as it may be.

One more thing of note, I’ve really gotta say “Thank you” to those people who have been there through just about everything because without you guys, I really wouldn’t have made it through the past twelve years.

Happy Wednesday and Flag Day folks.

Listening to:  People talking

Reading:  The Lost by Vicki Pettersson and Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz

Quote of the Day:  “Gratitude is the healthiest of all human emotions. The more you express gratitude for what you have, the more likely you will have even more to express gratitude for.” ― Zig Ziglar

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

