Postcards and RAK…

This morning, I wasn’t in the best moods.  I knew I wanted to write this post and knew I needed to be in a better mindset to do that.  After a 2.1 mile walk to work from Union Station while listening to the Hamilton soundtrack, I think I’m ready.

Or so I thought, until I started typing.

Right now, this week is Week One in a two-week competition where 900 people on 12 teams of 75 each are “racing” along a 3,300+ mile stretch from Quebec to Florida.  It’s been a great race so far.  I’ve logged 12 miles for my team so far.  It’s not much for sure but those are intentional miles.

Along with this race, we were encouraged to still use Charity Miles to help out the charities themselves too.  If you have Charity Miles, this week is #ProjectReadathon.  Save the Children and Penguin Random House are hosting this project.  The best part:  Participation is free!  All that needed is downloading the Charity Miles app in either the Android or Apple store, creating an account, and then get walking!  Whether it’s around your office or on a run you have coming up this weekend, it’s all for great causes.

So what all does this have to do with postcards?

Monday, when I got home, I’d gotten a postcard from Great Britain in an envelope.  I’d actually gotten three postcards in my mailbox Monday and one last night from fellow Postcrossing members.  I’ve received postcards in envelopes before so this wasn’t new.  What was new was the letter that was sent along with the postcard.

This letter was from a young lady who had decided to do a Random Acts of Kindness (RAK) spree for April.  It was actually pretty cool.  I met a new person is the strangest way and I gained a new goal my Someday list.

There are plenty of ideas for RAK out there.  Volunteering can be random.  Helping someone with something small or big.  Writing an anonymous letter with a positive message and leaving it for random people.  Little things… and I got ideas of what to do with my time if we get furloughed on the 28th.

What will you do to make your world a little brighter today?

Listening to:  The Hamilton soundtrack.  The music is amazing.

Reading:  The Source by J.D. Horn

Quote of the Day:  “Deep down, I reckon the sweetest moment will come when it’s finally all over. When, at last, I know that I can stop fighting. Of course it’ll also be a little sad. The sweetest moments, y’know, always come with just a little sadness.” ― Evander Holyfield

Leave a comment

Filed under 1001 Days, Goals

Leave a Reply

