St. Patrick’s Day

Happy Friday folks.

Today is St. Patrick’s Day.  For me, today is a weird day.  Normally, I would be looking forward to going out and getting smashed with friends or maybe even just drinking alone.  Having weight-loss surgery destroyed that since I’ve had to come up with other ways to celebrate things without food or alcohol.  I could still drink if I really wanted to and I just might get something to drink at home tonight.  It wouldn’t help with my attitude though.

It’s my only day in the office this week.  While it’s not that important, I read an e-mail that has me thinking about the point of what I do.  Thinking about that has me in a mindset that nothing really matters so why do anything?  It’s definitely not where I need my brain to be right now so I’m trying to get past it with music, research, and writing.

History Lesson

Like I said, today is St. Patrick’s Day.  History.com said this about today:  “St. Patrick’s Day occurs annually on March 17 in observance of the death of St. Patrick, the patron saint of Ireland. What began as a religious feast day in the 17th century has evolved into a variety of festivals across the globe celebrating Irish culture with parades, special foods, music, dancing, and a whole lot of green.”

There are also several myths another article debunks.  St. Patrick’s color was actually blue, not green.  The color went to green because that was the color the Irish rallied around for their independence in the 18th century.

St. Patrick’s Day was actually a Roman Catholic holiday.  March 17th is believed to be the Day St. Patrick died, sometime in the latter half of the 5th century A.D.  Because of his work for the Christian church, the day is a holy and religious day in the Catholic Church, but more recently also became a day to celebrate Ireland as a nation too.  Another fun religious fact I didn’t know was that the shamrock was used by St. Patrick to teach the Holy Trinity.

The first St. Patrick’s Day parade was held during the American Revolutionary War by the Irish soldiers who wanted to remember their heritage.  Speaking of America, corned beef wasn’t traditionally used as the dish for St. Patrick’s Day; ham was.  Because many Irish immigrants were poor, they used what they could to celebrate their patron saint’s day.

For more information, Google has a link to St. Patrick’s Day related things through their Doodle today.

Cat

Listening to:  ILYAIMY on Amazon.  They’re a local band.  I listen to them every so often because I like their music and it’s a good distraction.

Reading:  Visions of Silver by Anne BishopEtched in Bone came out this month and I wanted to catch up on the other books before I started that one.  Great story line to get lost in.  That seems to be the theme right now, getting lost in things.  I’m trying to remember why I needed to get lost.  Sorry, rambling.

Quote of the Day:  “All that is gold does not glitter, not all those who wander are lost; the old that is strong does not wither, deep roots are not reached by the frost.” – J. R. R. Tolkien

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

