Racing the Dawn

Dawn 3-5-17

Sunday found me driving from my house to pick up my sister and take her to the airport.  It was a 3 hour drive out, a little over an hour drive up and then a near 4-hour drive home.  All in all, not a bad drive and about what I would have spent driving for Uber that day.

MD Snow 3-5-17

It was beautiful morning that was made even more awesome by spending time with my sister, however limited.  However, there was one major, loaming deadline that I was procrastinating on:  My two final papers and responses, due by 11:59 p.m. Sunday.

Procrastination

Procrastination in one of my downfalls.  It creates stress, frustration, and a need to rush through things.  My passing these classes rested on my ability to produce really good papers.  I got angry at the dog though for whining, wanting attention while I was trying to write.  After I posted the papers, I couldn’t get to sleep for another hour and yesterday, I almost fell asleep at work.  That’s not a good thing.

According to Psychology Today, there are three types of procrastinators:

  • Arousal types, or thrill-seekers, who wait to the last minute for the euphoric rush.
  • Avoiders, who may be avoiding fear of failure or even fear of success, but in either case are very concerned with what others think of them; they would rather have others think they lack effort than ability.
  • Decisional procrastinators, who cannot make a decision. Not making a decision absolves procrastinators of responsibility for the outcome of events.

I’m between all three of them.  I think I do good work when I’m under pressure; this is a very reactive personality trait.  I have a really big fear of failure, which I know is terrible because I won’t grow as a person if I don’t try things.  I make a decision but I always think that about the outcomes that could have been.

One thing all procrastinators have in common is that we actively look for distractions.  For me, that starts happening about 3 p.m.  I look for things to read, watch, or listen to.  Right now, I’m listening to “Cloud Atlas” by David Mitchell.  Audiobooks are great distractions; Pinterest is another, along with Facebook.

For now, I need to get back to work and STOP PROCRASTINATING!

Listening to:  “Cloud Atlas” by David Mitchell on Overdrive

Reading:  “Cloud Atlas” by David Mitchell

Quote of the Day:  “If you choose to not deal with an issue, then you give up your right of control over the issue and it will select the path of least resistance.” ― Susan Del Gatto

Leave a comment

Filed under Advice Column, Driving

Leave a Reply

