Making Something Awesome

Remember last week when I mentioned that I would start talking about my goals?  This weekend, I completed one of my goals:  Make a Super Epic Rainbow Cake.

This month, we had a handful of birthdays, two of which were our kids.  Add this to me being in the mood to bake something I still can’t quite eat yet and I ended up making the cake.

15940720_10211442858175484_9079004480745099924_n

I used Yolanda’s 4 lb vanilla cake recipe.  If you haven’t seen How to Cake It’s YouTube channel, check it out.  Every Tuesday, she adds a new video with different cake designs.  The designs were what first caught me along with her creativity.  It’s amazing watching her videos and how things come together.  Her channel was the first time I’d seen a mega cake.  I would have loved to have made a mega cake but what I made worked.

Here is a link to How to Cake It’s blog and the vanilla cake recipe I used.  Like I mentioned, I went with the 4 lb version.  The recipe has the quantities to make more or you can ½ the recipe (at least everything but the baking powder… go with at least a tablespoon for the smaller recipe) and make a smaller cake.

15977900_10211442861135558_1118989287252759594_n

For the colors, I used Good Foods liqua-gel food coloring from Amazon.  The colors came in two days (thank you Prime!) and you can tell how vibrant the colors are.  I mean just looked at that cake!

15965157_10211442860495542_4970606688968983150_n

To top it off, I used two tubs of regular buttercream.

I was happy with the cake, what I could have of it.  Ray said out of all my baking experiments so far, this cake was the best.  It’s very moist, melt in your mouth cake.

What I would change would be to make a bigger batch of batter and add some color to the buttercream.  Other than that, it was epic.

If you try How to Cake It’s, please post pictures to How to Cake It’s blog post with the recipe.

Good luck!

Goals complete so far:  2

Listening to:  My Top 100 videos on YouTube

Reading:  Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

Quote of the Day:   “We must develop and maintain the capacity to forgive. He who is devoid of the power to forgive is devoid of the power to love. There is some good in the worst of us and some evil in the best of us. When we discover this, we are less prone to hate our enemies.”  ― Martin Luther King, Jr.

Leave a comment

Filed under 1001 Days, Cooking, Goals

Leave a Reply

