Why are goals important?

If you haven’t noticed, this blog is about goals, my goals specifically, and my journey to reach them.  I’ve been procrastinating today and meant to write this post earlier today.  I wasn’t sure I wanted to talk about goals or why they are important.  Maybe I just couldn’t find the words yet needed for this post.

I got to thinking about my new job though and thought about my response to people when I first started here.  As a young person (I started where I am at 23 or 24; I’ll be 30 in July), I was just happy to be at the next pay grade.  I started telling people I wanted to a program GS-12 by time I was 30.  No particular program or anything like that.  It was very basic.  Me, alone, climbing the ladder, and staying there until I was mid- to late-thirties and then moving on to a GS-13/14 (next level for government employees).

Then I got the speech about goals.

The reason goals are important is because they help give you something to do that gives your life purpose.  They make you do something with your life and to “put your money where your mouth is.”  There are a lot of things I haven’t done yet, hence my 1001 days list and bullet journal.

Goals also show people what you are willing to do to reach them and how serious you are about them.  Anyone who has tried just about anything has failed at some point.  If that person was truly serious about their goal and what they wanted, they wouldn’t stop trying right?

I’ll use my blog as an example.  I told myself this year my goal was to post every week, then it went to every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday just because I wanted to write.  I love writing and I love reading.  Goals though can be very tricky and they need to be flexible but firm also.  Going from once a week to three times a week and being consistent is the only way to reach a bigger goal:  Blogging throughout my 1001 days.  That’s a lot of posts and a lot of topics to cover.  I’ll start posting on the goals next week to show progress, because I won’t complete goals if I don’t do them right?

Happy Friday folks!

Listening to:  Moana Soundtrack on YouTube

Reading:  Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

Quote of the Day: “Just as your car runs more smoothly and requires less energy to go faster and farther when the wheels are in perfect alignment, you perform better when your thoughts, feelings, emotions, goals, and values are in balance.”― Brian Tracy

Leave a comment

Filed under Goals

Leave a Reply

