Bullet Journaling

This year to help with reaching some of the goals I posted, I decided to start a Bullet Journal.  I’d watched a few YouTube videos about it, looked at people’s Pinterest boards, and Googled how to create one.

A bullet journal is basically just that:  A journal with bullets in it.  It can be done in a special notebook with dots that help create boxes easier.  It can be done in a basic notebook.  Doodles can go anywhere and handwriting doesn’t really matter since this is a personal journal just to see where time goes and to get things done.

Since the journal is yours, it’s up to you how it works.  Mine starts with a blank first page so if I want to, I can go back and number my pages and create an index of where things are.  Next, I added the year (2017) and a few inspiring words that I think represent this year for me.  From there, it’s a Year at a Glance calendar with some of the important things going on that year.  There’s also a monthly section and even a weekly log.  I’m doing a simple one so I will want to keep going.

Tracking ideas are EVERYWHERE!  Bernadette from She’s Bernadette has a list of 35 things you can track in your journal, from calendars to habit trackers to bill trackers and spending logs.  Christina77Star has a list of 150 ideas for your bullet journal.  Like I said, you can make these as elaborate or as simple as you want.  Just make it personal to YOU.

So here are a few pictures from my journal:

I will say that this first week has actually been pretty good.  As you can see in the weekly log, there are markings.  X means done, > moved forward, < done the day before, and means not happening.

Again, it’s up to you to make it a creative or a simple as you want to.  Pinterest has lots of ideas for how to do and YouTube has plenty of videos to show how other people do their journals.  There is no right or wrong way to journal.  You can see that I use a regular notebook and I’ve written things that are important to me.

There’s also no particular day you have to start either!  Good luck!

Listening to:  Pentatonix Station on Amazon Music.

Reading:  Divergent by Veronica Roth.  Great book and good movie series.

Quote of the day: “Success is no accident. It is hard work, perseverance, learning, studying, sacrifice and most of all, love of what you are doing or learning to do.”― Pele

Leave a comment

Filed under Bullet Journal, Goals

Leave a Reply

