1001 Days

Bucket lists are good but do you really complete your list or do you let it linger for years at a time until something bad happens? Life is too short to just let the bucket list sit around.  Day Zero Project offers a way to set goals and a way to track them.  101 things in 1001 days.

1001 days. 2.75 years.  143 weeks.

That sounds like a really long time but it’s really not.

I started my third round of 1001 days on December 16, 2016. It ends on September 13, 2019.

There are some things that I still haven’t accomplished and there are somethings that I was surprised that came off my list. Since it’s the New Year and with everything going on, I thought revamping this blog might not be a bad idea.  Sort of a way to share my list and my accomplishments with you.  It’s been a while since I wrote on this page, almost a year at this point.  I’ve missed it.

Over the last year, I’ve lost my mom, I’ve finished the second draft of a novel and started the final draft, I’ve gotten married, I’ve had major surgery, and I’ve gotten a new job offer. Every so often I would want to write but I didn’t.  I wasn’t sure what to say about my life.  I wasn’t sure how to say what I wanted to say and I wasn’t sure I wanted to share.  Then the world around my came crashing down and things moved quickly.  And here it is on the fourth day of the New Year and here I am, still without much to say but sharing.

I started a bullet journal for this year. I wanted to try to keep track of things.  It’s actually helping so far.  I’ve done most of what I wanted to do and it’s been an easy way to keep track of my goals.  That’s not on my 1001 days; it should be though.

Here is my list:

  • Graduate College. I’m 9 classes away from completion with 2 classes starting on January 9th.
  • Leave an inspirational note inside a library book
  • Publish a novel. I’m talking to publishers now about my book.
  • Attend an opera
  • Read 100 books. Goodreads hosts their yearly challenge. I always try to go for 50 books a year.
  • Watch 26 movies I’ve never seen starting with each letter of the alphabet
  • Watch 100 movies I’ve never seen before. Hallmark and Lifetime are the best channels to do this challenge with.
  • Read 26 books I’ve never read starting with each letter of the alphabet
  • Take a cooking class
  • Write a short story
  • Spend one weekend with only my music, art and books. “Unplug”
  • Learn to speak Spanish. Duolingo is a free website and they have a plethora of languages.
  • Have a little black dress
  • Ride in a hot air balloon
  • Take guitar lessons
  • Try a new recipe every month
  • Clean out my closet
  • Enter a writing contest
  • Donate clothes you no longer use to Salvation Army
  • Learn a poem by heart
  • Get our commitment tattoos
  • Identify 100 things that make me happy
  • Take a pole dancing class
  • Ask 20 friends to suggest one book, and read them all
  • Develop a workout routine that doesn’t require equipment
  • Complete a 30 Miles in 30 Days Challenge. At almost 18 miles so far this year. I’m sort of surprised by this one.
  • Complete a ‘Walk To Mordor’ challenge
  • Finish laser hair removal on Face. May 2 more sessions…
  • Collect 200 postcards through Postcrossings. I’ve received 169 postcards already. 31 more to go.
  • Send 200 postcards through Postcrossings. I’ve sent 164 and have 12 traveling to people.
  • Save a 6 month Emergency Fund. So far, at $1,100. Not enough to cover much but more than we started with last year.
  • Complete Dave Ramsay’s Financial Classes. We start these at the end of the month.
  • Add all 100 places to visit to Someday list
  • Take a self defense class
  • Get rid of 100 things
  • Weigh 200 lbs or less. At 351 so 151 lbs to go.
  • Complete the A-Z travel challenge
  • Run a 5K race. Virtual races count!
  • Run a 10K race. Virtual races count!
  • Run a half marathon. Virtual races count!
  • Complete a sprint triathlon. Swimming (0.5 mi or 750 m), biking (12.4 mi or 20 km), and running (3.1 mi or 5 km). Sounds fun huh?
  • No fast food for a month. No drive thru coffee.
  • No alcohol for a month
  • Get my passport
  • Visit the Statue of Liberty (New York)
  • Design a budget and stick to it
  • Plant a tree
  • Spend a week at the beach
  • Buy a new bed
  • Go skinny dipping
  • Go vegetarian for a month
  • Go to Las Vegas (Nevada)
  • Audition for a role in a play
  • Volunteer overseas
  • Be on the New York Times bestsellers list
  • Try kickboxing
  • Kiss someone in the rain
  • Attend a TED event
  • Make 10 new dishes from my Pinterest recipes
  • Grow my hair to my waist
  • Go through storage and get rid of things we haven’t used
  • Finish a cross stitch project
  • Take a Thai cooking class
  • Go on a family vacation
  • Dress up for Halloween
  • Go on a cruise
  • Read my height in books. With 100 books, you would think this would be easy.
  • Don’t purchase anything unnecessary for a month
  • Visit all 50 states
  • Go to 5 different museums in 5 different cities
  • Listen to Observer’s 50 albums that changed music
  • Make Prefect in HRC
  • Visit Mom’s grave
  • Go to a concert
  • See the Northern Lights
  • Get a massage
  • Buy a lottery ticket
  • Say “yes” to something I would not normally do
  • Enter a photography contest
  • Find a personally inspirational quote and work it into a piece of art or home décor
  • Save all my change for a year
  • Start a new hobby
  • Get my fortune told
  • Go to a drag show
  • Wear a free hugs sign for a day
  • Complete a 1000 piece puzzle
  • Do the mentos and diet coke experiment
  • Pick 3 things to start and finish on Instructables.com
  • Go to a football game
  • Make chocolate from scratch
  • Attend a play
  • Get 2,017 miles in 2017
  • Go skydiving
  • Go camping
  • Treat Ray and me to a spa day
  • Take a free online class
  • Write a letter to myself to open at the end of 1001 days. Done.

 

There’s a lot here but there’s plenty of things to work on and work towards. Here’s to the 981 days.

Listening to: Amazon Music

Reading: Divergent by Veronica Roth.  Great book and good movie series.

Quote of the day: “The best day of your life is the one on which you decide your life is your own. No apologies or excuses. No one to lean on, rely on, or blame. The gift is yours – it is an amazing journey – and you alone are responsible for the quality of it. This is the day your life really begins.” ― Bob Moawad

2 Comments

Filed under 1001 Days, Bucket List, Goals, Quotes, Writing

2 responses to “1001 Days

  1. Your list is awesome! I’ve been neglecting my bucket list and should really get it written down so I can refer to it and update it often. I really think that’s the best way to actually accomplish anything. Have it in front of you as a constant reminder until you finally say, “Today is the day,” and you make it happen.

    I can’t wait to read more about your journey over the next few years. I’m about to update my dream list and make sure 2017 is unforgettable!

    • Thank you! It’s been a good way to get through things, no matter how little or how big. I ended up complete 58 of the 101 last round. Looking forward to marking more this time around. I can’t wait either!

Leave a Reply

